» ACHI Health Policy Director Craig Wilson… Leave a comment

The Delta Population Health Institute honored ACHI Health Policy Director Craig Wilson earlier this month with the DPHI Excellence in Policy Award for his contributions to population health and health equity in the Mississippi Delta region.

DPHI, the community engagement arm of the New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYITCOM) at Arkansas State University, presented the award to Wilson at the inaugural Delta Impacts Award ceremony in Jonesboro on June 10.

Wilson is a graduate of Lyon College in Batesville. He is an attorney licensed to practice in Arkansas, having earned his juris doctorate from Georgia State University College of Law and a master of public administration degree from Georgia State University Andrew Young School of Policy Studies in Atlanta. At ACHI his focus is on developing and sustaining initiatives to provide Arkansans with improved access to quality health care by eliminating financial, geographic, cultural, and language barriers.

Also honored at the Delta Impacts Award ceremony were:

  • Cherisse Jones-Branch, graduate school dean at ASU, who received the DPHI Excellence in Education Award.
  • Loretta Alexander, health policy director at Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families, who received the DPHI Excellence in Advocacy Award.
  • Lyndsey Gilpin, founder of the nonprofit media organization Southerly, who received the DPHI Excellence in Journalism Award.
  • James White of Elaine, who received the DPHI Excellence in Community Leadership Award.
  • Chelsea Presley, co-founder and executive director the Coahoma County Diaper Bank, who also received the DPHI Excellence in Community Leadership Award.
  • Kristy Carter, director of marketing for outreach and community engagement at the University of Central Arkansas, who received the Barbara Ross-Lee, D.O., Impact in Community Engagement Award.
  • Sixteen NYITCOM medical students, who were recognized for their outstanding community engagement: Sooji Beck, Kaitlyn Child, Colton Crain, Ethan Dominguez, Saif Fiaz, Saminul Haque, Nic Harriel, Baylee King, Erika Levy, Makayla Lund, Tina Mirzakhanian, Elli Meuller, Holleigh McMasters, Vicki Oladoyin, Andrea Pecina, and Emma Schmidt.

NYITCOM at A-State established the DPHI in 2019 to lead efforts to create equitable cultures of health through education, research, policy engagement, and community engagement. Read more about the awards ceremony on talkbusiness.net.


Leave a Reply